Training Week 2020 (formerly the IPMT)

Treating the Whole Human Being -
A Training in Anthroposophic Medicine


Seven Constitutional Gestures in Diagnosis and Treatment

hosted by the Physicians' Association for Anthroposophic Medicine (PAAM),
presented by The Medical Section at the Goetheanum, Switzerland

Find Connection in Community, Support our Training Programs, Deepen your Understanding

IPMT-Online Offerings Spring 2020

In this special year of the corona virus pandemic we are asked to be flexible in many new and different ways. Part of that involves the creation of an “IPMT-online” program in place of the annual training conference in Chestnut Ridge, New York, which has had to be cancelled. An unexpected benefit: the opportunity for us now to study and learn together in a much broader community (perhaps even across different continents), and enjoy the participation of those who may not have been able to travel to the conference.

Below is a listing of upcoming offerings. You are encouraged to join us for some or all—whatever meets your needs and schedule. The live online video teaching sessions will be recorded, so that if you are registered, but unable to participate in the actual meeting, you can watch or review them later on your own schedule. But we hope you will join and be part of the conversation!

We welcome the participation of physicians from all parts of the world. There are special discounts available this year for medical and nursing students. Contact us at paamdrscourse@anthroposophy.org for more information.

PART ONE: Four Wednesday evenings during the month of April
Eurythmy Practice to Support Resilience and Immunity, with Glenda Monasch TE
Wednesdays, April 8, 15, 22, 29 at 8:30pm EST/7:30pm CST/6:30pm MST/5:30pm PST
Open to licensed prescribers, nurses, rhythmical massage therapists, therapeutic eurythmists and other therapists, as well as students

These 60-minute sessions will provide demonstration, practice, and discussion of foundational eurythmy exercises to help us navigate this challenging time. Registration is required. Tuition for the four sessions is $100.
Tuition for medical and nursing students: $25 (contact us to let us know where you are studying to get the discount code).

Anthroposophic Medical Approaches to Infectious Diseases, an IPMT-online offering
Wednesdays, April 8, 15, 22, 29
Limited to physicians and licensed prescribers (MD, DO, ND, NP, PA practitioners and students)

There will be two options for each session, meeting either before or after the eurythmy teaching sessions—choose the time that works best for your schedule:

  • Early slot: 7:15pm-8:15pm EST/6:15pm-7:15pm CST/5:15pm-6:15pm MST/4:15pm 5:15pm PST (probably best for those in the Eastern half of the U.S.)
  • Late slot: 9:45pm-10:45pm EST/8:45pm-9:45pm CST/7:45pm-8:45pm MST/6:45pm-7:45pm PST (probably best for those in the Western half of the U.S)

This course will be a four-part study and discussion of the chapter on “Infectious Diseases” in The Anthroposophic Approach to Medicine by Husemann/Wolff, Volume III. The sessions will be divided up between four themes, and guided and moderated by IPMT faculty members. Topics include:

  • The Concept of Infection, and Understanding Bacteria (April 8)
  • Infection as an Ecological Problem, and the Question of Communicability (April 15)
  • Viruses, perhaps with additional readings from Steiner on this topic (April 22)
  • Therapy and Prophylaxis of Infectious disease (April 29)

A copy of the chapter will be provided to registrants, though you are encouraged to purchase the whole volume, which is available at http://www.mercurypress.org/medical-titles.html

Registration is required; tuition is $100 for the four sessions. Tuition for medical students is $25 (contact us to let us know where you are studying to get the discount code).

PART TWO: An intensive, expanded, seven-day course in May with two world experts in Anthroposophic Medicine
(You choose—be part of the discussion by joining the online teaching, brought live from Switzerland and Sweden—or watch the recordings later on your own schedule).

Pharmacology of Metals, with Albert Schmidli, Pharmacist
Seven days, May 3-9, 2020, 11am-12:30pm EST/10-11:30am CST/9-10:30am MST/8-9:30am PST
Open to licensed prescribers, nurses, rhythmical massage therapists, other therapists, and students 

This course will introduce the unique physical and chemical properties of seven metals which are widely used within Anthroposophic Medicine: iron, copper, tin, mercury, lead, silver and gold. They can be applied therapeutically, as specialized (often homeopathic) preparations, for a broad range of illnesses. The metallic elements will be explored through live demonstrations of their physical and chemical properties as well as enlivened observation of their natural forms. This information will then be bridged to their therapeutic applications.

Albert Schmidli is no ordinary teacher. His presentations are sought after worldwide because of their inspiring insights and remarkable demonstrations, which help participants gain awareness of the correlations between ancient healing knowledge, modern research, and the way these very special remedies can be incorporated into clinical practice today. Join us for this unique opportunity!

Registration is required; tuition is $200 for the seven sessions. Tuition for medical and nursing students is $50 (contact us to let us know where you are studying to get the discount code).

Sevenfold Constitutional Insights in Psychiatry, with Ursula Flatters MD
Seven days, May 3-9, 2020, 1pm-2:30pm EST/12pm-1:30am CST/11am-12:30pm MST/10-11:30am PST/5-6:30am NZT/1900-2030 CET
Limited to physicians and licensed prescribers (MD, DO, ND, NP, PA practitioners)

This course will provide an in-depth exploration of seven constitutional gestures, with a special focus on their diagnostic and therapeutic use in psychiatry. This sevenfold approach connects to both older mythological pictures of temperament and character (such as Greek or Roman pictures of the seven planets and related gods), as well as more modern understanding of the influence of organic imbalances and their relationships to mood disorders. 

This course assumes some familiarity with basic Anthroposophic principles

Dr. Flatters' teaching offers completely new insights for those who are hoping for a whole person approach to psychiatry that bridges understanding of body and mind. She will also be bringing considerations of what the future will be asking of us as we enter into the next century of Anthroposophic Medicine!

Registration is required; tuition is $200 for the seven sessions. Tuition for medical students: $50 (contact us to let us know where you are studying to get the discount code).

Please note: Program subject to change, as we are all experiencing.

Click below to see full descriptions of offerings:

Pharmacology of Metals 
Sevenfold Constitutional Insights in Psychiatry

Special Guest Faculty:
Ursula Flatters MD, from Jarna, Sweden. Ursula brings an incredible depth of palpable spiritual insight woven into many years of rich clinical experience in both inpatient and outpatient work.

Albert Schmidli, pharmacist, from Dornach, Switzerland. Albert’s pharmacy demonstrations and warm teaching are sought after around the world. Many call him an alchemist—you will see why!
 


Read what others are saying about their experience...

"My first IPMT in 2008 was a game-changer for my career path. The IPMT opened my eyes to an international medical movement that has been blossoming for almost a century. This medical movement views the human being, not just in a physical, biological sense, but includes in its view the human being as a potentially evolving spiritual being. Having this wider view of the possibilities of each human being improved how I felt about practicing medicine and was necessary for me to feel good about my relationship with patients. Who will benefit from the IPMT? Anyone who has a longing to go deep into the heart of medicine and a yearning to understand why a human being really becomes ill... Anthroposophic Medicine is a holistic medicine that begins with its foundation in conventional medicine, but adds new dimensions that allow a practitioner to penetrate into the deeper layers of each unique, individual patient."  -Tiffany Baer, MD

"It was my second IPMT meeting and I had wondered after the first one if subsequent IPMTs would be just as cool...Almost immediately I felt a deep satisfaction. Every meeting, discussion and gathering I attended created an 'awe' that blew my mind. The lectures were extremely helpful and timely. It gave me a lot of support and hope for the work we do. There have been many suggestions, exercises and opportunities to learn and self-develop at the IPMT that I would not have found in any other 'scientific meetings'."  -Vinay Parameswara, MD

"I have nothing but kudos and thank you’s to say about the newbies track for physicians at the IPMT I recently attended in Chestnut Ridge.  The experience began with a beautiful setting of the Fellowship Community and the Threefold Waldorf school and a gentle loving check-in to the pre-conference sessions.  It continued with great teaching from knowledgeable, caring professors coming from the USA and Europe. Early each morning, a Eurythmy movement expert gave demonstrations and participation to all. The nurses demonstrated multiple procedures with hand-outs and how-to’s. We learned the Steiner basics from his translated literature and discussed today’s relevance. As a group, we studied a plant in detail; and remedies for the respiratory tract problems.  Evenings were filled with lectures from the best of the best in worldwide Anthroposophic Medicine physicians.  It is hard to believe that we received so much for so relatively little and all was given to us so freely.  I was able to get to know dozens of other newbies and network with many very experienced physicians of AM. Thank you again with great gratitude for the introduction to a most complete medicine and way of life."  -Nancy Eos, MD


Physicians' Association for Anthroposophic Medicine (PAAM)
PO Box 4039
Grand Junction, CO 81502
paam@anthroposophy.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software